Pea Starch


Pea starch is made from yellow peas and is treated separately from pea flour, the most popular pea-based ingredient. Peas contain 40% starch, which comes in a white powder with a neutral flavour and colour. This starch is non-GMO, gluten-free, and non-allergenic.

Pea starch contains a high percentage of amylose (35%), and as a result, it has superior thickening and gelling qualities than other common native starches. Pea starch is more stable than other native starches under extreme heat, shear, and acid environments. It is the best gelling native starch as it can form a gel in water at a significantly lower dosage than other starches.

Thickener In Food Applications

  • Soups & Sauces
  • Meat & Poultry
  • Baked Goods
  • Dairy Products
  • Confectionery & Snacks
  • Pasta & Noodles

Pea starch is primarily used in the production of various food products for its binding and thickening qualities. It’s mainly used to give food products the texture, consistency, and stability that they need. Pea Starch is also recognised for its ability to form films in coatings and other textured foods.

Pea starch is lactose-free, allergen-free, gluten-free, low-calorie, and low-fat. Peas contain greater starch content than other native starches, making them a cost-effective and healthier alternative to other native starches.